Making a Difference

My Personal and Professional views

Are You Ready for BIO HACKING

leave a comment »

Xnt Chip Implanted

My college-aged son just informed me that his friend just had a Near Field Chip (NFC) implanted into his hand. The early adopter near term objective is to be able to open and start his car and ultimately to make purchases with a wave of his hand. Apparently he is not alone. A quick search turned up the device:

“The xNT is a 2mm x 12mm, fully NFC Type 2 compliant RFID tag encased in a cylindrical Schott 8625 bioglass ampule and sterilized in ethylene oxide gas. It is compatible with all NFC compliant devices such as mobile phones, tablets, etc. and can be used to launch URLs, share contact details, unlock phones, etc. The xNT is also ISO14443A compliant, so it can also be used with several types of commercial readers to unlock doors, start cars, log into computers, and more!”
http://tinyurl.com/ozbofjj
The chip retails for 30$ which seems pretty cheap. The real money will come when you pay to NFC enable your car, home and computer. They are selling this chip with an injection device and they are training piercing experts to perform installs.

To chip or not to chip? That is the question. Whether it is nobler in the mind to suffer the indignities of losing ones keys or to implant in our arms the permanent access solution?

I don’t know about you but count me in. While it will take time to retrofit doors, cars and other access devices, I for one look forward to a time when I can come and go without needing to pull out an access device that is more than a thousand years old.

Now this CNET article: http://tinyurl.com/ljesjvu lists a number of things you can do with an NFC but truth be told I do not think I have the patience to run around my life programming individual tags to perform mundane functions such as dimming the lights or putting my phone on Do Not Disturb. What will work is a platform that allows me to control all of the NFC tags in my life from one central location.

I would like: My doors, computers. Phones, and digital wallet to recognize me. Giving someone my business card info or wifi password by touching their phone may also be useful. In time I’d like my hotel room and office doors to also know who I am and let me kn when it is appropriate. If I can avoid going downstairs to rechardge another room key it will be worth the pain of injection and the risk of needing to remove it when it stops working.

One last thing, rhey seem to be working hard on making the chip easy to install. I have not seen any comments on getting it back out again, I suppose a body piercer will not perform this operation.

To learn more about BIO Hacking check out:
http://www.grindhousewetware.com/about.html

Written by Jim McNiel

May 19, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Posted in Science, Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

