Making a Difference

My Personal and Professional views

Can the GOP #TellTheTruth ?

leave a comment »

Can the GOP #TellTheTruth

I am a Republican. I canvassed for Richard Nixon before I knew what the word canvassing meant. I believe in the fundamentals of states rights, smaller government and the separation of church and state. I feel that we should have a tax system that taxes everyone fairly and does not allow the wealthy to exploit loopholes and tax shelters that can only be discovered by accountants and lawyers. I believe in a woman’s right to choose, equal rights and that every American citizen should receive a decent education and be healthy enough to take advantage of it. I think it is a crime that even though we are the wealthiest nation on earth we fail to be one of the top 20 nations when it comes to Math, Reading and Science scores.

I am over 50 years old and I know that our nation’s future success will come from the hard work of our youth and the immigrants who come here to find the American dream. I do not support organizations that preach hatred and, while I believe in the importance of our Bill of Rights and the right to bear arms, I do not think this should include the right to carry assault weapons or handguns.

I think marijuana is less harmful than alcohol and I applaud the states that are legalizing it. I believe that with 10% of our population behind bars we have too many, not too few people incarcerated and we need to seriously address this issue and take the profit out of running penitentiaries and courts.

I believe that climate change is real and that it is the result of human activity. I believe we can and need to do something about it now and this does not include drilling or fracking for more petroleum resources. I believe we need to prevent deforestation and other big business actions that enrich the few at the expense of the many.

I believe in all of these things and I believe in science and Evolution. I believe my Christian, Muslim, Hindu and Jewish friends and neighbors have the right to worship their God and the right to keep these activities separate from our local and federal government.

What I do not believe is how most of our current presumed GOP presidential candidates lack the will to state what I have stated, one way or the other, without ambiguity or obfuscation. I think honesty and candor amongst our elected officials should be table stakes. If we are to choose the government we wish to govern, do we not deserve to know what they truly stand for?

Lastly, I think that the Citizens United bill has sold out our political process to the highest bidder and I will not be surprised when big business and the Koch brothers control our future government.

This took me all of 20 minutes to write, and while it may not qualify me for our nation’s top office, at least you know where I stand. I do not think it is asking too much to demand the same candor and honesty from the next man or woman who wishes to be seated in the most powerful office in the world.

All I want is to demand that our political candidates #tellthetruth, is that too much to ask?

Written by Jim McNiel

February 15, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Posted in Politics

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

